Our History



Barry RFC went from strength to strength in the post war years.  Fixtures such as the Old Barrians game on Boxing Day were by now an accepted part of the programme, as was a charity match at the end of the season.  Teams including the Cardiff and District Union and Cardiff Athletic provided the opposition.  This culminated in a successful 1948-49 season, where the 1st XV remained undefeated at home and won 14 of its 17 matches. 

The improving fixture list, widening scope of activities and growing name of Barry RFC were leading inexorably in one direction.  In 1949 Barry were admitted into the Welsh Rugby Union (although one of Barry RFC's former guises were already admitted to the WRU over 50 years later), but with that came a new problem.  Barry were now in need of a new home, as the WRU required 'pitches to be enclosed to stop spectators encroaching', and despite the usage of stakes and ropes and match days, Romilly Road was soon to be passed over for something new.

On Wednesday 11th April 1951, the new ground and pavilion at Merthyr Dyfan Lane (Reservoir Field) was officially opened.  The day was marked by a game against Metropolitan Police No. 4 Division, which the home side won 8-0.  A new clubhouse (a former army Nissen hut) was also erected on the ground, despite a few hiccups on the way.

Very few clubs in South Wales at the time owned their own headquarters, and the feeling of pride and achievement within the rugby club was added to in no small measure by the realisation that very largely the members had done it themselves; they were a part of it in every sense.

New playing strength was attracted into the club by the new faciliities so that both 1st and 2nd XVs were composed of a good blend of youth and experience.  In 1955-56, Barry completed its own 'Triple Crown', where they defeated Swansea (11-3), Newport (13-11) and Cardiff (20-16), a unique achievement that has never been repeated*.


*As of 2015